National University of Ireland, Galway

The School of Medicine at the National University of Ireland, Galway (NUIG) is one of three schools within the College of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences. Students completing the school’s primary undergraduate programme in medicine are conferred with the degrees of Bachelors of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery and Bachelor of Obsetrics (M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O.)


The Medical Faculty was one of the original faculties of the University and the first medical students were admitted in 1849.  The Faculty has a long and illustrious history of medical training.  The school is well known for the excellence of its clinical training and for the contribution that its many graduates have made to the world of medicine.

The College offers either a 5 or 6 year programme to students depending on their entry requirements of that particular year. The 6 year programme incorporates "Foundation Year", where students learn the basics of the sciences along with an "introduction to medicine" module before entering into 1st Med. Teaching hospitals associated with the college include, University Hospital College Galway, Letterkenny Hospital, Castlebar Hospital, Sligo General Hospital and Portiuncala Hospital. More information on the academies and student life for NUIG Medical students can be found on the NUIG Medical Society's website -

NUIG has a wide range of medically related societies including "The Surgical Society", "Sláinte (Health) Society", "The Medical Society", "Psychiatry Society" "Voluntary Services Abroad" etc.

A lot of the societies put a huge emphasis on charity events and have raised thousands upon thousands of euros for various charities over the years.